Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

Can not undo Changing the application (2 posts)

  • Started 8 years ago by dickguertin
  • Latest reply 8 years ago from Scott McGuire
  • dickguertin Member

    Fetch 5.1b2, I followed the instructions for "Changing the applications file opens with". The "Transfer Options" showed "None Selected" under the "Open this file with:" heading. There were no applications listed, except "Other". I choose an old application from Mac OS9. The file took on the creator value, but still had nothing for type. When viewed with GetFileInfo in Terminal.app, the attributes included "C", meaning a custom icon.

    I then decided I wanted to undo this for any future downloads of files with this suffix (.CKPT). So I quit from Fetch, relaunched it, and tried the same procedure described above with the hope of being able to restore "None Selected". But there is no such choice. Once an application is selected, only it or "Other" shows up in the list. There is no choice such as "None Selected". This leaves me with files like this downloaded with the custom icon bit set to "C" (not "c"), and the creator set to something I no longer want.

    There needs to be a "None Selected" choice under "Other".
    And the custom icon bit needs to remain "c".

    [This message has been edited by dickguertin (edited 04-11-2006).]

    Posted 8 years ago #

  • Scott McGuire Administrator

    Hi,

    You are correct, currently there is no way inside the Fetch application to return the setting to "None selected." We will take that as feedback, thanks.

    However, you could reset it by quitting Fetch and removing the com.fetchsoftworks.Fetch.plist file (and just that file). That would reset all the "open this file with" settings (and all your other preferences). But your shortcuts would not be lost (because they are stored in the com.fetchsoftworks.Fetch.Shortcuts.plist).

    Thanks,

    Scott McGuire
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 8 years ago #

Reply

  • Or nickname, if you prefer.
  • This will be kept confidential.
  • This is to ensure that you’re a person, not a spambot.