Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

Deleting Files (3 posts)

  • Started 4 years ago by Callum
  • Latest reply 4 years ago from Scott McGuire
  • Callum Member

    I have just started using Fetch to share files and it seems to be working fine however, when the person I am sharing files with deletes a document which we have sync'd it does not seem to delete on my computer.

    Is there a setting which can be used to totally sync the files? We basically want the exact same documents to appear on our computers.

    Posted 4 years ago #

  • Callum Member

    Sorry I have now managed to sort the sync between Fetch and the files which we are sharing however, I can not get the Mirror facility in Fetch to work how I would like it to. In the Fetch folder it looks as it should but from what I can see you either have to mirror it to your computer or away from your computer. But what if I put a file on to my computer which I want to upload and at the same time I want to download a file? Either way one will be lost will it not?

    Posted 4 years ago #

  • Scott McGuire Administrator

    Hi Callum,

    Fetch's Mirror feature does not have a way to sync in both directions at the same time.

    If you leave the "Delete stray items at destination" option unchecked, you can run a Mirror operation in each direction and then both folders will be the same and you won't have lost any files (because new files from your Mac will be uploaded in one direction, new files from the destination will be downloaded when you do the other direction, and no files will be removed), but you may end up with files you don't want because they were been deleted in one or the other locations and the Mirror operations won't remove them.

    But there isn't a way to do a complete two-way synchronization if there are both new files and deleted files in each location, sorry.

    Thanks,

    Scott McGuire
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 4 years ago #

Reply

  • Or nickname, if you prefer.
  • This will be kept confidential.
  • This is to ensure that you’re a person, not a spambot.