Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

Dumb question? (2 posts)

This is an archived topic. The information in it is likely to be out-of-date and no longer applicable to current versions of Fetch.
  • Started 9 years ago by Sharon-T
  • Latest reply 9 years ago from Jim Matthews
  • Sharon-T Member

    This may seem like a dumb question! But I'm new to all of this. Never even heard of an FTP client until a couple of days ago...

    Once I've put all my files into Fetch for the first time, and then uploaded these files from my software building package (Freeway), do I later need to delete these files and directories first and then replace them with new updated files in the future, before I upload again?

    I've been tweaking my new web site a lot, and am wondering if I have to go through this entire process again each time I have a new version to upload. OR, once the directories are created, do I just need to do a straight upload from Freeway?

    Thanks!

    Posted 9 years ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    No, you do not need to delete the old versions of files on the server before you upload new copies with Fetch. The new files will overwrite the old ones.

    I don't know what you mean by "a straight upload from Freeway". You would use Freeway to make changes to the copy of your website that is stored on your Mac. Then you would use Fetch to upload any changed files from your Mac to your server account.

    I hope this helps,

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 9 years ago #

Topic closed

This topic has been closed.