Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

"Oops: child died" message (2 posts)

  • Started 5 years ago by puzzled
  • Latest reply 5 years ago from Scott McGuire
  • puzzled Member

    When I try to transfer info to my website, I keep getting cut off before the transfer is complete. Every time this happens, I get the same (creepy!) message, "OOPS: child died." This happens at about the same point in time, each time I try to transfer. I've deleted and then recreated files that have received this message. The recreated files will get transferred, but -- like I said, at the same point in time during the next transfer -- another file will get cut off and I'll receive the creepy message again! Any idea why this is happening?

    Posted 5 years ago #

  • Scott McGuire Administrator

    Hi,

    If your uploads always fail at the same place, the most likely cause is that you do not have enough space (also known as "quota") in your account on the server to upload the files you're trying to upload.

    Unfortunately most FTP servers don't give a useful error when this happens.

    Most Internet service providers only provide a relatively small amount of storage with your account, such as 10 MB total.

    You should try deleting unused files from the server, if possible, and see if that fixes the problem.

    If you can't delete any of the files, you should contact the folks who maintain your server and check to see how much space you have left, and if you are running out of space, how to get more. If this turns out not to be the problem, please let us know and we'll try to figure out what the problem is.

    (The "Oops: child died" message comes from the server, not Fetch. It's a poor error message to give to a user. When one computer program runs another program, the second program is sometimes called a "child program." What the server is saying is that a program it tried to run either didn't run, or quit unexpectedly.)

    Thanks,

    Scott McGuire
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 5 years ago #

Reply

  • Or nickname, if you prefer.
  • This will be kept confidential.
  • This is to ensure that you’re a person, not a spambot.