Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

Put problem (5 posts)

  • Started 7 years ago by 67randy
  • Latest reply 7 years ago from Scott McGuire
  • 67randy Member

    I'm trying to place a file titled 'index1.html' on the server. When it arrives it has the following title: 'pureftpd.45f047e4.62 2.0005' and I cannot view it. What is going wrong? Usually the Put feature works fine.
    Thanks.

    Posted 7 years ago #

  • Scott McGuire Administrator

    Hi,

    When you use the Put command, change the setting of the "If a file already exists:" menu to "Replace existing file". Do not use "Pick a different name".

    When this menu is set to "Pick a different name", Fetch sends a command asking the server to give your file a unique name to make sure it does not replace an existing file. The problem is, some servers do this by giving the files names full of gibberish.

    Let us know if this does not fix the problem.

    Thanks,

    Scott McGuire
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 7 years ago #

  • 67randy Member

    Yes, this works. Thanks.

    Originally posted by ScottMcGuire:

    Hi,

    When you use the Put command, change the setting of the "If a file already exists:" menu to "Replace existing file". Do not use "Pick a different name".

    When this menu is set to "Pick a different name", Fetch sends a command asking the server to give your file a unique name to make sure it does not replace an existing file. The problem is, some servers do this by giving the files names full of gibberish.

    Let us know if this does not fix the problem.

    Thanks,

    Scott McGuire
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 7 years ago #

  • 67randy Member

    BTW, I checked the box to get an email if someone replied to my original posting and while you had replied, I didn't get an email. Just thought you should know.

    Posted 7 years ago #

  • Scott McGuire Administrator

    Originally posted by 67randy:

    BTW, I checked the box to get an email if someone replied to my original posting and while you had replied, I didn't get an email. Just thought you should know.

    Hi,

    Thanks for letting us know. I've double-checked and tested, and the email notification feature seems to be working. Perhaps your notification got caught in a spam filter? (The notifications aren't very spammy, but you never know.)

    Anyway, I apologize that you didn't get the notification, but I'm glad that you came back and checked for a reply, and that your problem is fixed. We appreciate the follow-up.

    Best,

    Scott McGuire
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 7 years ago #

Reply

  • Or nickname, if you prefer.
  • This will be kept confidential.
  • This is to ensure that you’re a person, not a spambot.