Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

Fetch quits when I Click Put (13 posts)

  • Started 1 year ago by Bryan Smith
  • Latest reply 1 year ago from Dean Rutz
  • Bryan Smith Member

    Fetch quits when I hit Put to move photos into a folder.

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • admin Key Master

    Hi,

    We've gotten a few reports of this problem. It seems to have something to do with the user-specific configuration of the Mac, as logging into the Mac as a guest user seems to work when logging into the main account does not. One user reported that logging into the guest user and using Put fixed the problem for their regular login account, so that may be worth a try.

    As a workaround, you should be able to drag files from the Finder to the Fetch transfer window.

    Thanks,

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Dean Rutz Member

    Any guess of what it might be in the user configuration? This wasn't a problem for me until I upgraded the Mac OS, and now it's a problem on all my Macs. So there wasn't a change that I made. It would have had to be something in the OS.

    Edited 1 year ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    Hi Dean,

    Do you see the problem if you log into your Mac as a guest?

    Thanks,

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Dean Rutz Member

    It does, but what does that mean? I’ve read where you believe it’s a user settings change, but if all I did was load the OS what setting change should I be looking for?

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    Hi,

    macOS stores some settings each time it displays the system "pick some files and/or folders" dialog, the one that is displayed when you click Put. For example, it remembers what folder was being displayed, whether items are being displayed as icons, in a list, or in columns, the size of the dialog window, etc. My best guess is that something about those saved settings is causing the crash. But that's just a guess.

    Unfortunately it appears that this crash does not leave a crash log, so I can't look at that to try to figure out the problem. One thing you could try is to open Fetch again after a crash, choose Collect Fetch Diagnostics from the Help menu, and send that file to bugs@fetchsoftworks.com . I'll take a look and see what I can find out.

    Thanks,

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Dean Rutz Member

    Thanks, Jim. I’ve sent crash data to you now.

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Dean Rutz Member

    I think you hit it on the head, Jim. After stewing on your observation, I deleted my shortcut and made a new one. That solved the problem.

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Clifford Member

    Hi there, I have the same problem.

    Where do I find the shortcut Dean Rutz speaks of to delete & how do I make a new one.

    I'm on Mac OS Ventura 13.3.1

    Thank you!

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    Hi Clifford,

    You can delete shortcuts by choosing Show Shortcuts from the Shortcuts menu, selecting the shortcut, then choosing Delete from the Edit menu.

    Thanks,

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Clifford Member

    Thanks Jim, I find a folder called Fetch Softworks.
    It contains a bunch of .dmg, .zip a .sit file and then 2 folders, example & incoming.
    What am I deleting?

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    Hi Clifford,

    Based on your description it sounds like you opened the shortcut and connected to the Fetch Softworks FTP site. You don't need to delete that shortcut. My guess is that Dean meant that he deleted the shortcut he had created to his own FTP site.

    Thanks,

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 1 year ago #

  • Dean Rutz Member

    That’s correct. I just deleted the shortcut for our site, restarted my machine, and built it again. It worked on one machine, but not another.

    Posted 1 year ago #

Reply

  • Or nickname, if you prefer.
  • This will be kept confidential.
  • This is to ensure that you’re a person, not a spambot.