Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

macOS - licensing change to per user? (2 posts)

  • Started 2 weeks ago by Matt
  • Latest reply 1 week ago from Matt
  • Matt Member

    Greetings,
    I currently have Fetch 5.8 deployed to numerous multiuser Macs in the labs at our university. I had been applying the licensing information per machine by adding the needed info to the "com.fetchsoftworks.Fetch" plist file, which was in turn applying the licensing to all users that launched Fetch on a particular machine. That had worked for a long time. Just today I was informed that by a faculty member that Fetch was not licensed. Upon closer inspection, all the correct information was still in the plist file (/Library/Prefrences). After launching Fetch, and being prompted to do so, I entered the licensing information after selecting "Enter Serial Number". From that point, everything was fine for that user only. If another user logged in to that Mac and launched Fetch, they too were required to enter in the licensing information. Was there a licensing schema change with Fetch, that changed it to a "per user" license? Or was it perhaps something within macOS that changed causing this? We've been using Fetch at no cost for years now at our university, thanks to Fetch Softworks' generous, free, education licensing. That said - if there is a license that we need to purchase to allow for Fetch to be licensed per machine, and not per user, we would gladly pay for that.
    Kind Regards,
    Matt

    Posted 2 weeks ago #

  • Matt Member

    Update: It appears the Fetch licensing information, although once nested within "com.fetchsoftworks.Fetch.plist", is now located in "com.fetchsoftworks.Fetch.License.plist". I made the changes, deployed, and all is good now.
    I discovered this after reading Fetch FAQ section under "Licensing and Serial Numbers" - which I probably should've done prior to posting here on the message board - my apologies.
    Kind Regards,
    Matt

    Posted 1 week ago #

Reply

  • Or nickname, if you prefer.
  • This will be kept confidential.
  • This is to ensure that you’re a person, not a spambot.