Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

Upload overwrite warning? (10 posts)

  • Started 8 years ago by guest
  • Latest reply 2 years ago from Jim Matthews
  • guest Registered Member

    I see in the Prefs for Fetch5 an option to warn before overwriting downloads. Is there no such option for warn on upload, which is a much larger concern to me? I looked through everything I could find, and didn't see a setting to enable this...

    thx;
    -rob.

    Posted 8 years ago #

  • Scott McGuire Administrator

    Hi,

    No, Fetch 5 does not currently have a "warn before overwriting uploads" preference at this time.

    If you click the Put button to put files, at the bottom of the dialog you will see a menu labelled "If a file already exists". You can choose "Pick a different name"from that menu (instead of the default "Replace existing file"), which will prevent existing files from being overwritten.

    However, some servers do not support the command used for the "Pick a different name" option, and some servers that do support it will give the new file a gibberish name instead of something sensible if you use that option. These are, unfortunately, server-dependent behaviors that Fetch has no control over.

    We are considering a "warn before overwriting" preference for uploads for a future version of Fetch.

    Thanks,

    Scott McGuire
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 8 years ago #

  • jehrler Member

    Well, it appears that, as of now, the overwrite on upload option still remains in the ether.

    I would encourage you to add it in the next version because, when using Interarchy, it has saved my bacon a few times.

    Posted 7 years ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    Thanks for the feedback, it's definitely something we want to do.

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 7 years ago #

  • Jon Member

    How goes the progress with warning before overwriting? I hate not knowing if I'm overwriting a file I accidentally named the same as an existing file but with different content.

    Posted 2 years ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    It's still something we want to provide in a future version, and we've made a small amount of progress in that direction, but we don't have a release date to announce.

    Thanks,

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 2 years ago #

  • lincoln Member

    i uploaded a big file using fetch. when the upload finished, fetch started the upload again, overwriting the existing file. how do i prevent this? i cannot be certain to be in the room when the upload is complete. what can i disable?

    Posted 2 years ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    Fetch should not start the upload again unless the original upload fails.

    If you see this again could you choose "Fetch Transcript" from the Window menu and send me the contents? I will see if I can figure out why the upload restarted.

    Thanks,

    Jim Matthews
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 2 years ago #

  • Jon Member

    I too would like to see a "warn before overwrite" feature. Transmit has this.

    It's handy if only to be certain it's doing what I expect it to be doing - ie., replacing an existing file or folder.

    Thanks for listening.

    Posted 2 years ago #

  • Jim Matthews Administrator

    Thanks for that feedback.

    Posted 2 years ago #

Reply

  • Or nickname, if you prefer.
  • This will be kept confidential.
  • This is to ensure that you’re a person, not a spambot.