Your best friend for file transfer.

Fetch application logoFetch

Fetch Connection Drops at 182 MB (2 posts)

  • Started 10 years ago by ahall7
  • Latest reply 10 years ago from Scott McGuire
  • ahall7 Member

    Hello,

    I have been trying to upload a 1.69 GB Quicktime file repeatedly. The connection and transfer always begins with no trouble. Then, it always stops at 181 or 182 MB and tells me that the "server" dropped the connection. I have tried to place this file onto several different FTP sites, and I always get the same result.

    Please help ASAP!!!!

    Many thanks,
    Alan

    Posted 10 years ago #

  • Scott McGuire Administrator

    Hi Alan,

    Usually when an upload always stops at the same place, that's an indication that you are out of space on the server you are trying to upload it to. It's a little odd that you would see the upload stop at the same place on several servers, though.

    But nevertheless, the first thing I would do is check and make sure the server(s) you are trying to upload to have enough space available to hold a 1.69 GB file.

    If the servers do have enough space, and assuming you haven't deleted the failed uploads from every server, you should try Fetch's resume upload feature (available in Fetch 5 and later) and see if it works. The resume upload feature lets you pick up an upload from where it stopped, instead of starting over from the beginning.

    You can learn how to use it by reading the Resuming uploads topic in Fetch Help (or just click the link here).

    If you cannot resume your upload, we'd like to see the transcript from the failed attempt to resume it.

    To do this, after you try resuming the upload, choose Fetch Transcript from the Window menu, copy the entire contents of the transcript window, and paste them into a reply to this message.

    We'll take a look and try to figure out what's going on.

    Thanks,

    Scott McGuire
    Fetch Softworks

    Posted 10 years ago #

Reply

  • Or nickname, if you prefer.
  • This will be kept confidential.
  • This is to ensure that you’re a person, not a spambot.